• Wed. Dec 6th, 2023

“Now, won’t be available for World Cup…”: Anil Kumble on Ruturaj Gaekwad-led Team India at Asian Games

“Now, won’t be available for World Cup…”: Anil Kumble on Ruturaj Gaekwad-led Team India at Asian Games

File photo of Ruturaj Gaekwad© AFP

The BCCI announced the Indian men’s and women’s cricket teams for the Asian Games on Friday. Ruturaj Gaekwad has been named the captain of the men’s team for the Hangzhou Asian Games, while IPL star Rinku Singh has also been named. Rinku, who was ruled out of the T20 series in the Caribbean island, made the cut for the Asian Games to be held from September 23 to October 8.

The continental games coincide with the start of the ODI World Cup, which is why a B team is named. Shivam Dubey, Yashaswi Jaiswal, Tilak Verma and Prabhsimran Singh are others who have performed well in the IPL. It was Dube’s come-from-behind season as he helped CSK to a record-equalling fifth title.

Jaiswal became the third Indian player to score 150 runs on his Test debut for India on Thursday when he scored a century on his Test debut against the West Indies.

Thilak has also been included in the squad to face the West Indies in the five-match series from August 3. Former India captain and coach Ani Kumble feels that the selected players are out of the ODI World Cup (which starts on October 5) at least for now.

“On the starting line-up, I think yes. There is still time between now and October, so anything can happen. If there is any injury or any problem, I am sure players can be pulled from the team for the World Cup. I don’t think anything is written in stone. At least now these players will not be available for the World Cup as both are clashing,” Anil Kumble. Jio said in the movie.

“It will be a great experience. To be a part of the Asian Games, to be a part of the Games village.”

Team India (Senior Men) Squad for 19th Asian Games: Ruturaj Gaekwad (Captain), Yashaswi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Verma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Singh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dubey, Prabhsimran Singh (Wk).

Standby list of players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarshan

Indian Women’s Team for 19th Asian Games: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandana (VC), Shafali Verma, Jemima Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (UK), Amanjot Kaur, Devika Vaidya, Anjali Sarwani, Titas Sadhu, Rajadeshwari. Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja, Uma Chetri (Wk), Anusha Barreddy Standby Players List: Harleen Deol, Kashvi Gautham, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaq, Pooja Vastrakar.

(with PTI inputs)

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *