• Sun. Dec 3rd, 2023

Indian Men’s Cricket Team for 2023 Asian Games

Indian Men’s Cricket Team for 2023 Asian Games

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced 15 members on Friday Indian men’s cricket team And five standby players for what’s to come Asian Games 2023Scheduled from September 23 to October 8 in Hangzhou, People’s Republic of China.

The Asian Games 2023 men’s cricket event in T20 format will be held from September 28 to October 8. All matches will be played at Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field.

With the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup kicking off in India on October 5, India will field a predominantly second-tier side at the Hangzhou Games without first-team regulars like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli.

However, the Hangzhou-bound squad will feature a number of youngsters, most of whom have performed well in the Indian Premier League (IPL). 26 years old Ruturaj GaekwadThe man, who plies his trade for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL, will lead the Indian team at the Hangzhou Asian Games.

Left-arm pacer Arshdeep SinghThe bowler who has taken the most wickets for Punjab Kings in IPL 2023 has been included in the squad. Rajasthan Royal Yashasvi JaiswalThe star also achieved this feat by scoring a century on his Test debut against the West Indies.

Rinku Singh, who made headlines this season for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2023, also earned a maiden India call-up.

India has selected both men’s and women’s teams for this Asian Games Cricket First match.

He has played cricket at the Asian Games twice before – Guangzhou 2010 and Incheon 2014. Sri Lanka are the defending champions while Bangladesh won the first edition. Both times, Afghanistan finished as runners-up.

This is the second time the men’s cricket team is playing in the multi-sport event. The Indian men’s cricket team played in the 50-over format at the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur. However, the matches were recorded as List A games as they did not receive international status.

Asian Games 2023 Indian Men’s Cricket Team – Full Squad

Team India: Ruturaj Gaekwad (captain), Yashaswi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Verma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicket keeper), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dubey, Prabhsimran Singh (Wicket Keeper)

Standby players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarshan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *