• Tue. Feb 27th, 2024

The threat of oil protests forced the ICC to have two pitches for the World Test Championship final

The threat of oil protests forced the ICC to have two pitches for the World Test Championship final

Updated by:
Jun 07, 2023 01:14 IST

London (UK), June 7 (ANI): The International Cricket Council (ICC) has prepared two pitches for the World Test Championship final between India and Australia after oil protesters threatened to destroy the pitch and ground during the match.
Security has been beefed up at Kennington Oval Cricket Ground in view of the threat. According to an ICC source, the ICC has also made changes to Section 6.4 of the Playing Conditions Law, which makes an alternative pitch.
If the pitch is interrupted they will assess the pitch and check whether it is in good condition to play or not and if yes they will continue the same play and if not they will look at the condition of the other pitch and make a call. They may or may not play in the other.
Captains Rohit Sharma and Pat Cummins were taken into confidence. If both agree to play after the pitch is damaged they continue, otherwise the match may be abandoned or abandoned. Certain categories will play a crucial role in the WTC 2023 final depending on the circumstances that occur.
Firstly, if the on-field umpire decides that it is unsafe or unreasonable to continue play on the match pitch, they shall immediately stop play and inform the ICC match referee in accordance with 6.4.1.

Under 6.4.4, if it is decided not to restart play, the on-field umpire will assess whether the current pitch can be repaired in consultation with the ICC Match Referee. The ICC match referee must consider whether or not this repair will unfairly benefit either side, given the play that has already taken place on a dangerous pitch.
As per 6.4.7, throughout the decision-making processes mentioned above, the ICC Match Referee shall keep the two captains and the Head of Ground Authority informed of the situation. The Head of Ground Authority will ensure that appropriate public announcements are made in a timely manner.
The WTC Final will run from June 7 to June 11 at London’s Oval starting at 3pm, with a reserve day in place should weather intervene to spoil the sport.
Indian squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohammad. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (Wk).
Suryakumar Yadav, Mukesh Kumar and Yashaswi Jaiswal have been selected as stand-by players.
Australian team for WTC final: Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (WK), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (WK), Usman Khawaja, Marnes Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Michael Neser, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, David Warner Standby Players: Mitch Marsh, Matthew Renshaw. (ANI)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *